• Current Donation Goals

• Raised $390 of $700 target

Any runners on the Squawk

Dragitoff

Obviously the Hawks are a passion for me, but I have another passion and it's probably my one lone hobby I still have. I've been running for a little less than 3 years now. I started doing it as a way to lose weight and it definitely worked. I've dropped over 60 pounds and still losing. I run about 25-30 miles a week now. I was just curious if anyone else on the Squawk considers themselves a runner. I know quite a few of us on here talk about playing basketball and often basketball players are avid runners since the 2 sports go hand in hand. Just curious if there's any others out there like me that love to run.

• Like 1

no, but i started playing indoor soccer this past year (after a 20+ year hiatus), and thought about starting to do some running during the week just so i won't get ridiculously winded within 30 seconds on the field.

Any suggestions or things to avoid would be appreciated. Thinking of intermixing sprints and jogging, working up to 40-60 minutes at a time to simulate what i have to do on the field.

• Like 1

no, but i started playing indoor soccer this past year (after a 20+ year hiatus), and thought about starting to do some running during the week just so i won't get ridiculously winded within 30 seconds on the field.

Any suggestions or things to avoid would be appreciated. Thinking of intermixing sprints and jogging, working up to 40-60 minutes at a time to simulate what i have to do on the field.

birddirt, I would recommend running easy, doing weights (squat, deadlift, abs, twist, calves, optional bench, optional row, optional dip), plus easy plyometrics. Playing soccer can be your hard aerobic workout.