• Current Donation Goals

• Raised $390 of $700 target

Interesting Trade thought... Like Hawksquawk's thoughts..

Diesel

• Premium Member

Would you trade:

Bazemore/our Midround first    for Paul George.

Here's the deal.  George is leaving OKC by trade before the deadline.   He's going to be a free agent because he will opt out.   The question is would you use this to get rid of Baze's contract?  There's a lot of side stories to this trade too.  I would like to hear from the Squawkers. 

• Premium Member
1 hour ago, AHF said:

Not for me.  I value a mid-first over getting rid of Baze's contract.  I don't think it is our time to chase a dollar free agent this offseason so I don't feel any burning need to unload it.  

Well Like I said, there are several layers to this. 

1.   What if we can convince George to stay and be the face of this team?

He still has 2 year left if he doesn't opt out.   We can build a team around him.   Regardless of where he plans may take him, he won't get that.  A team built around him with him as the star. 

2.   Will it kill the tank run?

Not necessarily, if we can convince him to stay, we may be able to convince him to shut down.  The old Back injury. 

3.  He is the offensive and defensive force that we need. 

4.  With Baze off the books, we have money to go after another star.  Maybe even another trade. 

• Moderators
43 minutes ago, Diesel said:

Well Like I said, there are several layers to this. 

Agreed.

1.   What if we can convince George to stay and be the face of this team?

He still has 2 year left if he doesn't opt out.   We can build a team around him.   Regardless of where he plans may take him, he won't get that.  A team built around him with him as the star. 

My view on that is a definitive "no."  I think he is opting out and looking to head to a contender or LA.  Be happy to have the conversation with his agent if he doesn't feel that way.

2.   Will it kill the tank run?